Ars Nova Singers, guitarist Spera will current ‘postcards to the longer term’

Live shows June 3–5 function new work by Theofanidis and Pizzetti’s 1922 Requiem

By Peter Alexander May 23 at 9:12 p.m.

Nicolò Spera

Guitarist and CU music professor Nicolò Spera was shocked by issues occurring the U.S. after the loss of life of Supreme Courtroom Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. He wished to reply in one of the simplest ways he knew—with music.

The musical work that got here from that need, Door Out of the Hearth by Pulitzer Prize-winning American composer Christopher Theofanidis, would be the centerpiece of a live performance by Boulder’s Ars Nova Singers, beneath the course of Thomas Edward Morgan. The Ars Nova efficiency would be the Colorado premiere, following a efficiency by Spera in Michigan in October, 2021.

Additionally on this system is the Requiem of Italian composer Ildebrando Pizzetti. Performances will likely be June 3, 4 and 5, in Denver, Boulder and Longmont, respectively (see particulars beneath). Along with the stay performances, the live performance will even be obtainable by livestream. Data and tickets for the concert events, which shut out Ars Nova’s 2021–22 season, can be found right here.

Christopher Theofanidis

After Ginsburg’s loss of life, “I wished a composer to jot down some ‘postcards to the longer term,’ in music,” Spera wrote in a latest e mail. He turned to Theofanidis, who had not too long ago written an orchestral work, On the Bridge of the Everlasting, for the 2020 centennial of the CU Boulder School of Music.

Writing for and with Spera, Theofanidis composed 4 choral “messages in a bottle” primarily based on poems by Melissa Studdard. Every of the 4 choral settings is preceded by a prelude for guitar.

The texts mirror among the main problems with our time, together with the menace posed by local weather change. They’re titled “Burning Cathedral,” “The Ebook of Rahul,” “Ruth’s Aria”—to be sung by CU music school member Abigail Nims, mezzo soprano—and “Migration Patterns.” The work is devoted to “le nostre speranze”—our hopes—Spera’s kids, Julia and Giacomo.

Pizzetti’s Requiem will likely be offered in observance of the 100th anniversary of its composition. The Requiem, Pizzetti’s solely liturgical music, is written for a-capella choir. The musical setting contains Gregorian chant was effectively as actions that recall Renaissance madrigals. The feel varies from single-line chant to eight voices to a number of choirs within the method of 18th-century Venetian polychoral music.

# # # # #

Thomas Edward Morgan and Ars Nova Singers

Made Actual
Ars Nova Singers, Thomas Edward Morgan, director
With Nicolò Spera, guitar, and Abigail Nims, mezzo-soprano

  • Christopher Theofanidis: Door Out of the Hearth
  • Ildebrando Pizzetti: Requiem

7:30 p.m. Friday, June 3
St. Paul Group of Religion, Denver

7:30 p.m. Saturday, June 4
First United Methodist Church, Boulder

7 p.m. Sunday, June 5
Stewart Auditorium, Longmont Museum

Data and tickets, together with livestream