Candidates Introduced for 2022 Queen Elisabeth Worldwide Cello Competitors


Established in 1937 by Eugène Ysaÿe and Queen Elisabeth, the competitors is likely one of the most prestigious competitions on the earth, providing younger musicians a possibility to develop their careers at a world degree by performing earlier than a big viewers of music-lovers and music professionals.

The primary version of the cello part of the competitors was launched in 2017.

The 68 opening-round candidates are:

  • Riana Anthony (United States)
  • Beata Antikainen (Finland)
  • James Baik (United States)
  • Yibai Chen (China)
  • Bryan Cheng (Canada)
  • Hayoung Choi (South Korea)
  • Elia Cohen-Weisert (Israel/Germany)
  • Christoph Croisé (France/Germany)
  • Rainer Crosett (United States)
  • Balázs Dolfin (Hungary)
  • Lee Dongyeol (South Korea)
  • Alessandra Doninelli (Swizerland)
  • Jonah Ellsworth (United States)
  • Jeremias Fliedl (Austria)
  • Hideaki Fujiwara (Japan)
  • André Gunko (Portugal)
  • Anouchka Hack (Germany)
  • Constatin Heise (Germany)
  • Eline Hensels (Netherlands)
  • Oliver Herbert (United States)
  • Timothy Hopkins (Germany)
  • Stéphanie Huang (Belgium)
  • Jakyoung Olivia Huh (South Korea)
  • Annie Jacobs-Perkins (United States)
  • Woochan Jeong (South Korea)
  • Haddon Kay (United States)
  • Bumjun Kim (France)
  • James Kim (South Korea)
  • Min Ji Kim (South Korea)
  • Stanislas Kim (France)
  • Marcel Johannes Kits (Estonia)
  • Leland Ko (United States/Canada)
  • Yeongkwang Lee (South Korea)
  • En-Chun Lin (Chinese language Taipei)
  • Giovannini Luca (Italy)
  • Sam Lucas (Australia)
  • Jean-Baptiste Maizières (France)
  • Keisuki Morita (Japan)
  • Zachary Mowitz (United States)
  • Taguk Mun (South Korea)
  • Antonin Musset (France)
  • Ah-Yeon Nam (South Korea)
  • Samuel Niederhauser (Switzerland)
  • Ye Un Park (South Korea)
  • Petar Pejčić (Serbia)
  • Erica Piccotti (Italy)
  • Konstanze Pietschmann (Germany)
  • Edvard Pogossian (United States)
  • Florian Pons (France)
  • Maxime Quennesson (France)
  • Umut Saglam (Turkey)
  • Philipp Schupelius (Germany)
  • Ivan Sendetskiy (Russia)
  • Oleksiy Shadrin (Ukraine)
  • Ivan Skanavi (Russia)
  • Grace Sohn (Canada)
  • Anton Spronk (Netherlands/Switzerland)
  • Vasily Stepanov (Russia)
  • Hayk Sukiasyan (Armenia)
  • Ildikó Szabó (Hungary)
  • Simon Tetzlaff (Germany)
  • Ella Van Poucke (Netherlands)
  • Luiz Fernando Venturelli (Brazil)
  • Alexander Warenburg (Netherlands)
  • Aaron Wolff (United States)
  • Sul Yoon (South Korea)
  • Maria Zaytseva (Russia)
  • Klaudio Zoto (Albania)

This yr’s opening spherical will likely be held from Might 9 to Might 14.

The semi-final spherical, to be held from Might 16 to 21, will function every competitor performing a commissioned work in addition to a Haydn cello concerto with the Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie and conductor Vahan Mardirossian.

The ultimate spherical will likely be hosted on the Centre for Wonderful Arts in Brussels on Might 30. Every finalist will carry out a commissioned work, a commissioned concerto for the competitors, and a serious cello concerto with conductor Stéphane Denève and the Brussels Philharmonic.

Former prize winners embrace VC Artists Aurélien Pascal, Ivan Karizna, Brannon Cho, and Santiago Cañón-Valencia.

The jury for this yr’s competitors will likely be introduced in March.

Earlier articleLondon Symphony Appoints Inaugural Affiliate Artist


Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings