OUT NOW | Ensemble Collectif9’s “Vagues et ombres”


Praised for his or her distinctive preparations of the classical repertoire, Montreal-based collectif9 in the present day launched its third album entitled, “Vagues Et Ombres.” Featured on the album are the preparations by Thibault Bertin-Maghit of works by Claude Debussy — equivalent to Clair de lune, La Mer, Des pas sur la neige, and others. It additionally options the premiere of Montréal composer Luna Pearl Woolf‘s latest piece, Contact, which is “a sonic view into the underwater world of beluga whales within the St. Lawrence Estuary.”

 “This recording developed out of our profound admiration of nice work — may we, as 9 string gamers, carry out Claude Debussy’s La Mer and do it justice? In a musical model the place timbre and colour are paramount, making an attempt to interpret this emblematic work utilizing a single household of devices appeared outrageous; nevertheless, we love a problem,” ensemble musicians Andrea Stewart and Thibault Bertin-Maghit mentioned.

“That is definitely a reinterpretation. Being fewer in quantity permits us to in any other case reveal a wealthy rhythmic interaction already current within the work whereas shedding new gentle on the stability of voices and harmonies.”

The album trailer is on the market on-line right here.


Coming onto the scene within the 2015-16 season, the ensemble has toured internationally. Its musicians embody:

  • Thibault Bertin-Maghit​​, bass
  • ​Chloé Chabanole, violin
  • Scott Chancey​​​, viola
  • Jérémie Cloutier, cello
  • John Corban, violin
  • Yubin Kim​, violin
  • Xavier Lepage-Brault​​​​​, viola
  • Robert Margaryan, violin
  • TJ Skinner, violin
  • Andrea Stewart​​, cello

In 2021, collectif9 signed with main European label Alpha Classics, a partnership that started with the re-release of the group’s 2nd album, “No Time for Chamber Music.”

Earlier articlePavel Haas Quartet Indicators with Kirshbaum Associates for North American Illustration