Semi-Finalists Introduced for 2022 Oskar Nedbal Worldwide Viola Competitors

Sao Soulez Lariviere (2020 2nd prize) on the opening live performance of the 2021 competitors (Photograph credit score: Ondřej Melecký)


The Oskar Nedbal Worldwide Viola Competitors is open to violists youthful than 30 years outdated of any nationality.

The 2022 semifinalists are:

  1. Yibo Cao (China)
  2. Oscar Edin (Sweden)
  3. Duleen van Gunsteren (Netherland)
  4. Wenhan Jiang (China)
  5. Takehiro Konoe (Japan/Netherland)
  6. Hwayoon Lee (South Korea)
  7. Yat Lee (Hong Kong)
  8. Laura Liu (USA)
  9. Ilias-Ion Livieratos (Greece)
  10. Wilhelm Magner (Canada)
  11. Nicol Miekus (Poland)
  12. Kyungsik Shin (South Korea)
  13. Joseph Skerik (USA)
  14. Yuri Yoon (South Korea)


Amongst monetary prizes (totaling 110.000 CZK), laureates will obtain a tremendous viola bow by Luboš Odlas, a viola case by GEWA, strings, rosins, and Korfker Relaxation by Pirastro, and paid live shows.

The primary spherical was accomplished by way of video recording, whereas the second and third spherical shall be held stay in Prague. Within the ultimate spherical, violists will carry out a concerto by C. Stamitz or F. A. Hoffmeister with the Carlsbad Symphony Orchestra.

The 2022 jury will comprise Lars Anders Tomter (Norway), Tim Frederiksen (Denmark), Kristina Fialová (Czech Republic), Lech Antonio Uszynski (Switzerland/Poland), and Jan Pěruška (Czech Republic).