Swiss Violin College Basis Names “Golden Bow” Winner

Sebastian Bohren together with his 1761 Guadagnini “Ex-Wanamaker-Hart” violin in entrance of the “Wall of fame” of previous “Golden Bow” winners since its inception in 2000 (Picture courtesy: Swiss Violin Making College)


For over 20 years, the Swiss Violin College Basis has acknowledged achievements in violin making and taking part in, and supported the Swiss Violin Making College in awarding the “Golden Bow” to string gamers who’ve enriched cultural life.

Sebastian Bohren, 35, is that this yr’s laureate and has acquired a particular gold-mounted violin bow made by the Finkel Bow Workshop in Breinz, Switzerland. Inscribed on the bow’s ferrule and close to the frog is the yr, plus each Bohren’s identify and the award title. A brief video showcasing the bow may be watched beneath.



The award ceremony occurred on July 8, 2022, through the opening of Swiss music-festival “Musikfestwoche Meiringen,” the place Bohren carried out Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto No.2. In keeping with the press launch, Bohren “as soon as once more impressed the viewers together with his expressive ardour, heat tone, and uncompromising virtuosity.”

Born in 1987, Bohren studied violin with Jens Lohmann, Robert Zimansky, Zakhar Bron, and Igor Karsko. He additionally studied with Ingolf Turban at Munich’s College of Music and Performing Arts.

From 2013 to 2020, he was a part of the Stradivari-Quartett and has made concerto appearances in lots of worldwide orchestras, performing with conductors together with Elim Chan, James Gaffigan, Clemens Heil, Heinz Holliger, Axel Kober, Patrick Lange, Andrew Litton, Andrew Manze, and Gábor Takács-Nagy.

Since 2006, he has coordinated the live performance collection Stretta Concert events in his native Switzerland. He presently performs the 1761 “Ex-Wanamaker-Hart” violin made in Parma by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini

Many “Golden Bow” winners have had an essential affect on Bohren’s inventive life, together with Hansheinz Schneeberger, Thomas Demenga, and Thomas Füri. Different winners embody Thomas Zehetmair, Tabea Zimmermann, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Kim Kashkashian, Antje Weithaas, Roby Lakatos, plus string quartets Quartuor Sine Nomine and Quatuor Ebène

Moreover, collaborations between the Swiss Violin College and the previous winners have seen the college’s college students be taught from the world-class musicians.

Throughout her award ceremony handle, Birgit Steinfels, co-director of the Swiss Violin College, emphasised that “the Violin College Basis is captivated with younger individuals who, within the twenty first century, have their ft firmly planted on the bottom and on the identical time are dedicated to the nice masters with coronary heart and soul to make them ever current to us.”