Violinist Arlan Vriens Receives $10,000 Rising Artist Award

(Picture credit score: Bo Huang)


The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Awards Basis has awarded violinist Arlan Vriens the 2022 Rising Artist Award which features a $10,000 money prize, plus a handcrafted medal and certificates. 

Based in 2003, the Canadian group promotes excellence within the arts and has supplied $1,430,000 to 74 Rising Artists and 23 Distinguished Artists (awards that alternate each different yr).

Based on Vriens’ interview with The Gateway, he plans to make use of his award funds to fee a brand new violin, which he hopes would “‘actually go well with who [he] is as an artist,’ as he had been borrowing violins for round 5 years prior.”

Based mostly in Toronto, Vriens grew up in Edmonton and attended the College of Alberta. He has served as concertmaster of Opera on the Avalon and affiliate concertmaster of the Newfoundland Symphony

Vriens continuously performs new and up to date works in concert events and festivals throughout North America and Europe, together with music by Ruth Crawford Seeger, Steve Reich, and Alfred Schnittke. He’s at present pursuing a doctorate diploma learning baroque violin on the College of Toronto and is a Visiting Analysis Scholar at Cambridge College.

His awards embody the Sir James Lougheed Award of Distinction and grants from arts councils throughout Canada, in addition to the American Bach Society’s William H. Scheide Analysis Grant, amongst others.

The opposite musicians receiving this yr’s Rising Artist Award embody saxophonist Perpetual Atife and soprano Eden Tremayne — each from Calgary.

“We’re thrilled to speculate $110,000 this yr in advancing the careers of those excellent artists on the early levels of their skilled improvement,” Basis Board Chair, Arlene Strom stated within the press launch. “Our artists assist inform and form our tales — enriching how we see and respect each other, and these 11 have so many tales to share!”

There have been 140 functions for the award whose adjudication was overseen by The Banff Middle. The jury comprised Darren Fung, Sean Caulfield, Patricia Darbasie, Jenna Butler, and Derek Beaulieu.