Winners Introduced at 2022 Rotterdam Worldwide Conducting Competitors


The Rotterdam Worldwide Conducting Competitors concluded its 2022 version immediately. On the award ceremony, the Grand Prize and €15,000 was awarded to Bertie Baigent whereas the viewers award went to Chilean conductor Luis Toro Araya.

There have been additionally winners for every of the rounds of the competitors:

  • Proms Spherical Award: Martijn Dendievel (Belgium)
  • Up to date Spherical Award: Chloe Rooke (United Kingdom)
  • Classical Spherical Spherical: Bertie Baigent (United Kingdom)
  • Opera Spherical: Luis Toro Araya (Chile)
  • Symphony Spherical: Bertie Baigent (United Kingdom)

The ultimate rounds of the competitors featured every designate winner conducting the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Rotterdam Symphony Refrain, Sinfonia Rotterdam, Doelen Ensemble, and the Orchestra of the 18th Century.

The brand new format, which lasted two years, allowed the younger conductors the possibility to work with quite a few orchestras and check all ranges, specialties, genres, and kinds.

Every spherical consisted of rehearsals and a last live performance efficiency, each of which have been judged by the jury and open to the general public.

“ICCR has been over 6 years within the making,” Occasion Government Director Rob Hilberink instructed The Violin Channel. “It sparked from the notion that only a few high-level alternatives for younger conductors existed worldwide.”

“As a younger conductor there are only a few alternatives to carry out on ‘your instrument’, and infrequently do you’ve gotten the possibility to work with a high-level orchestra and even then, by no means does this occur in entrance of so many influential individuals from all all over the world,” he mentioned.

“It’s each a incredible studying expertise and a showcase on the identical time.”

The competitors had separate juries for every spherical. They’re to incorporate: Michel van der Aa, Giordino Bellincampi, Anja Bihlmaier, Deborah Borda, Karina Canelakkis, Jonathan Darlington, Sian Edwards, Jane Glover, Ara Guzelimian, Antony Hermus, Ton Koopman, Sophie de Lint, Sir James MacMillan, Wayne Marshall, Kenneth Montgomery, Franck Ollu, Lahav Shani, Ed Spanjaard, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Maxim Vengerov, Benjamin Wallfisch, George Wiegel, Joshua Weilerstein, Elmar Weingarten, John Wilson, and Yip Wing Sie.

Because the competitors’s official worldwide media and broadcast accomplice, the Violin Channel streamed immediately from Rotterdam. You possibly can watch the competitors right here.